Monday, December 22, 2008

New for 2009

U2 has set March 3rd, 2009 as the release date for its 12th studio album, with the title confirmed as No Line on the Horizon. The project was written and recorded in various locations, including Morocco, New York, London and the group's own studio in Dublin, Ireland. Production was handled by Brian Eno and Daniel Lanois, who have previously collaborated on some of U2's most successful earlier albums. No Line on the Horizon follows up 2004's How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb.

A video for the lead single, rumored to be called "Sexy Boots," was shot in London two weeks ago.

The album's release was delayed from this fall to early 2009 because the band wanted to add more songs to the record. Frontman Bono said last September, "I'm always the one who underestimates how easy it is to simply 'put out the songs now.' If it was just up to me they'd be out already!...We want 2009 to be our year, so we're going to start making an impression very early on."

According to, other songs expected to appear on the album include the title track, "Moment of Surrender" and "Unknown Caller." A source told Billboard that the music is "amazing and a little out there."
A five-minute preview of Neil Young's long-awaited 10-disc set, Archives, Vol. 1: 1963-1972 has been posted on You Tube. The collection, which will be sold as both a DVD and Blu-Ray disc will be released on February 24th, and features 128 tracks -- including 43 unreleased recordings, dozens of high definition videos, along with a 236-page hardcover book.

Check it out...

No comments: